About Our Dean of Faculty

Jefferson Pinder is Interim Dean of Faculty and Vice President of Academic Affairs.

Prior to his appointment, Pinder was a professor in SAIC’s Department of Sculpture. His work provokes commentary about race and struggle. Focusing primarily with neon, found objects, and video, Pinder investigates identity through the most dynamic circumstances and materials. From uncanny video portraits associated with popular music to durational work that puts the Black body in motion, he examines physical conditioning that reveals an emotional response. Pinder’s work has been featured in numerous group and solo shows, including exhibitions at the Studio Museum in Harlem; the Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art in Hartford, Connecticut; Showroom MAMA in Rotterdam, Netherlands; the Phillips Collection; and the National Portrait Gallery in Washington, DC.? He recently exhibited in the Shanghai Biennale, and at the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture. In 2016, he was awarded a USA Fellowship in the field of performance and was a 2017 John Simon Guggenheim Fellow.?

Office of the Dean of Faculty

Sharp Building, 37 S. Wabash Ave., Suite 821

Jefferson Pinder, Interim Dean of Faculty and Vice President of Academic Affairs
Maria Dunaesky, Assistant to the Dean of Faculty and Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs and Special Assistant for the Strategic Plan

Arnold Kemp, Dean of Graduate Studies, Professor of Painting and Drawing
Dwayne Moser, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies:?[email protected]

Dawn Gavin, Interim Dean of Undergraduate Studies: [email protected]
Paul Jackson, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies:?[email protected]
Nia Easley, Administrative Assistant to?the Dean of Undergraduate Studies:?[email protected]

Gretchen Talbot,?Dean of Administration, Budget, and Planning:?[email protected]
Molly Scranton, Associate Director of Faculty Affairs:?[email protected]
Isabel Garcia-Gonzales, Associate Director, Faculty Employment Resources:?[email protected]
Geof Teague,?Associate Director, Faculty Employment Resources:?[email protected]
Maya Gopalan, Assistant Director of Academic Administration
Duangdow Arjsiri, Administrative Assistant, Faculty Employment Resources:?[email protected]

Beth Wright, Chair of Faculty, Associate Professor of Liberal Arts:?[email protected]
Raja El Halwani,?Faculty Liaison, Professor of Liberal Arts: [email protected]

SAIC is pleased to welcome 13 new full-time faculty

Department Chairs 2019-20

Hennie Reynders, Associate Professor?AIADO (Architecture)

Tim Parsons, Associate Professor, AIADO (Designed Objects) [email protected]

Hennie Reynders, AIADO (Interior Architecture)

Chris Baker, Associate Professor, Art and Technology

Olvia Gude, Professor, Art Education [email protected]

Nora Taylor, Professor,?Art History [email protected]

Savneet Talwar, Professor, Art Therapy [email protected]

Rachel Weiss, Professor and Chair, Arts Administration and Policy and Chair of the Faculty Senate?[email protected]

Marie Herwald Hermann, Assistant Professor, Ceramics [email protected]

Amy Vogel, Associate Professor, Contemporary Practices [email protected]=

Anke Loh, Associate Professor, Fashion Design [email protected]

Lisa Vinebaum, Associate Professor, Fiber [email protected]=

Frederic Moffet, Associate Professor, Film, Video, New Media and Animation?[email protected]

Nicholas Lowe, Associate Professor, Historic Preservation [email protected]

Adam Mack, Associate Professor, Liberal Arts [email protected]

Gregg Bordowitz, Professor, Low Res Director [email protected]

Dushko Petrovich, Assistant Professor, New Arts Journalism?[email protected]

Jose Rodrigues Lerma, ?Associate Professor, Painting and Drawing [email protected]

Robin Deacon, Professor, Performance [email protected]

Oliver Sann, Associate Professor, Photography [email protected]

Shaurya Kumar, ?Associate Professor, Continuing Studies Instructor, Printmedia [email protected]

Dan Price, Associate Professor, Sculpture [email protected]

Nic Collins, Professor, Sound [email protected]

Karen Morris, Associate Professor, Visual & Critical Studies [email protected]

Alan Rhodes, Associate Professor, Visual Communication and Design [email protected]

Sally Alatalo, Professor, Writing [email protected]